Skip Navigation


Main Site Link


Wallace L. McKeehan
Alkek Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Texas A & M University 2121 W. Holcombe Boulevard Houston, Texas 77030
(713) 677-7524

Associate Editors

Daniel Acosta University of Cincinnati
Mina J. Bissell University of California - Berkeley
Jane E. Bottenstein University of Texas - Galveston
Stanley Glasser Baylor College of Medicine
Gary R. Grotendorst Univeristy of Miami
John W. Harbell Microbiological Associates
Robert M. Hoffman AntiCancer, Inc.
Mikio Kan Albert B. Alkek Institute of Biosciences and Technology Texas A & M University
John M. Lehman Albany Medical College
Elliot M. Levine The Wistar Institute
Dwight E. Lynn USDA/ARS
Angie Rizzino University of Nebraska
Gordon H. Sato W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center, Inc.
Warren I. Schaeffer University of Vermont
Jerry W. Shay The University of Texas - Dallas

Reviewing Editors

Steven K. Akiyami
Robert Auerbach
June L. Biedler
Ralph Bradshaw
Nancy L. Bucher
Gertrude C. Buehring Graham Carpenter
Brent H. Cochran
Stanley Cohen
Vincent J. Cristofalo
Ronald G. Crystal
Gerald R. Cunha
Gretchen J. Darlington
Ann M. Fallon
Sen-itiroh Hakomori Richard G. Ham
Anne W. Hamburger
Stephen D. Hauschka
Harvey Herschman
W. Fred Hink
Peter J. Hornsby
Howard L. Hosick
T. C. Hsu
Harriet C. Isom
Michael Klagsbrun
John F. Lechner
Joseph Leighton
Aaron B. Lerner
Shyamal K. Majumdar
Karl Maramorosch
Normand L. Marceau
Jennie P. Mather
Michael J. Meredith
John P. Merlie
George K. Michalopoulos
Brooke T. Mossman
Vasiliana V. Moussatos
James J. Mrotek
Elizabeth F. Neufield
Santo V. Nicosia
Arthur B. Pardee
Donna M. Peehl
Lucia A. Pirisi
Theodore T. Puck
Kenneth S. Ramos
Lola C. Reid
James G. Rheinwald
Russell Ross
Katherine K. Sanford
Charles D. Scher
Leonard J. Schiff
Stephen M. Schwartz
Alphonse E. Sirica
James R. Smith
Eric J. Stanbridge
Gretchen H. Stein
Donald F. Steiner
James L. Stevens
Charles D. Stiles
Stephen Strom
Mary Taub
James E. Trosko
James L. Vaughn
Judith Willis
James D. Yager
Reza Zarnegar
Bruce R. Zetter

International Corresponding Editors


Yves Courtois
Institut National de la Sante et de la Recherche Medicale
Paris, France

Carl-Hendrik Heldin
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Uppsala, Sweden

Hiroyoshi Hoshi
Research Institute for the Functional Peptides
Yamagata, Japan

Dr. Youji Mitsui
National Institute of Bioscience & Human Technology
Ibaraki, Japan

Jacques Pouyssegur
Univeriste de Nice - Parc Valrose Nice
Cedex, France

Bengt Westermark
University of Uppsala
Uppsala, Sweden

Clyde J. Dawe
National Cancer Institute

Charity Waymouth
The Jackson Laboratory

Vernon P. Perry
Biomedical Research Institute

M.K. Patterson, Jr.
Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation

Gordon H. Sato
W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center, Inc.

Photocopy Policy: Authorization to photocopy items for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by the Society for In Vitro Biology for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Transactional Reporting Service, provided that the base fee of $5.00 per copy per article (no per page fee) is parid directly to CCC, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, phone (508) 750-8400, fax (508) 750-4744. Reproduction policy beyond that permitted above is explained on the Information for Authors page. 1071-2690/93 $05.00 + 0.00. IN VITRO CELLULAR & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY (ISSN 1071-2690) is published monthly except semimonthly in March by the Society for In Vitro Biology (SIVB), 9315 Largo Drive West, Suite 255, Largo, MD 20774. IN VITRO CELLULAR & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY is devoted to the advancement and dissemination of basic and applied knowledge concerning the in vitro cultivation of cells, tissues, organs, or tumors from multicellular animals or plants. Non-member subscription rate: $255.00 per VOLUME ($280.00 outside North America via surface mail), payable in advance in U.S.A. funds drawn on a U.S.A. bank. If not a U.S.A. back, add $15.00 bank clearance fee. Claims of nonreceipt should be made within six months of publication. Issues claimed after six months may be purchased as back issues at $15.00 per issue. SIVB members receive IN VITRO CELLULAR & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY ($25.00) as part of annual dues. Correspondence relating to subscriptions, nonreceipt of journals, back issues, advertising, and late or lost proofs should be directed to the Society for In Vitro Biology, 9315 Largo Drive West, Suite 255, Largo, MD 20774 (301) 324-5054. Periodicals postage paid at Upper Marlboro, MD, and additional mailing offices.

Postmaster: Send changes to IN VITRO CELLULAR & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY, 9315 Largo Drive West, Suite 255, Largo, MD 20774.

Made in the United States of America Copyright ©1997 Society for In Vitro Biology. All Rights Reserved


New ALTEX: 2/2018

ALTEX cover 51

Support ALTWEB, Make a Gift
Online Humane Science Course


Building a Better Epithelium: Breaking the Barrier to the Next Generation of Toxicity Testing
March 10, 2018
San Antonio, TX

SOT Satellite Meeting: Updates on Activities Related to 21st Century Toxicology and Related Efforts: Invited Presentations and Open Mic
March 15, 2018
San Antonio, TX

Social Housing Workshop
June 4-5, 2018
Beltsville, MD

2nd Pan-American Conference for Alternative Methods
August 23-24, 2018
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 

Eurotox 2018
September 2-5, 2018
Brussels, Belgium

20th International Congress on In Vitro Toxicology (ESTIV2018)
October 15-18, 2018

More Meetings...